Do you remember the first time you saw a cinemagraph?  

Wait, was that what I thought I saw? It stopped me in my thumb scrolling tracks.  I was mesmerized.  What a cool way to grab someone’s attention.

cinemagraph 2

Cinemagraphs are designed for immediacy to tell in a faster and more alluring way visual stories while mesmerising through an isolated image and moving element, making it hard to take your eyes away.

Animated GIFs or Cinemagraphs are a powerful way to engage your audience on social and through email campaigns.  According to a survey by Experian Marketing services, 72% of email marketers who have used animated gifs or cinemagraphs have recorded higher transaction-to-click rates, compared with bulk emails to the same customers.

The adoption of cinemagraphs is growing rapidly.  According to Jim Squires, director of market operations at Instagram,  “People love them, advertisers love them, and they really are a great way of drawing attention to certain aspects of the photo.”

cinemagraph 3

Cinemagraphs are about to take off even further!

Last week, Flixel announced a partnership with Facebook which will allow users to easily create high-quality cinemagraph profile videos and easily upload to Facebook directly from Flixel’s Cinemagraph Pro for iOS app for free.

It all comes down to content stickiness. Cinemagraphs are one opportunity for brands to capture eyeballs for a few precious extra seconds.

2 thoughts on “Do you remember the first time you saw a cinemagraph?  

  1. Thanks for sharing, as this was a new term/concept to me. I admit I wasn’t sure what separated a cinemagraph from a gif, so I found an article that explained it. The former is more of an art piece that isolates one movement to heighten a certain aesthetic, while the latter seems to be a low-res, short moving video that happens to loop – https://social.ogilvy.com/gifs-vs-cinemagraphs-and-how-you-choose/. I then wondered how each was different from Apple’s Live Photos, which I’m not sure I quite understand beyond knowing that those, for now, can only be viewed on a person’s own Apple devices vs. being shared with others via text, social, etc. http://techcrunch.com/2015/09/09/apples-new-iphones-let-you-snap-harry-potter-like-animated-photos/. Interesting how vital visuals are becoming and how they continue to evolve….

    Like

  2. I remember stopping and thinking wait, what am I seeing?! Then followed by excitement, and finally, ok, how can I do this?! I personally enjoy websites that have this incorporated and/or a video background– SO visually appealing, right? I have to admit, this makes me wonder if it is something is SO attention-grabbing only because it is new?

    Like

Leave a comment